California Boater Safety Card: It’s the Law
If you’ve been dreaming about getting behind the wheel on the water, you probably already know, you need a boater safety card. But how do you get one? It’s simple.
Who Needs to Have a Boater Safety Card?
Most states require that boaters complete an official and certified boater education course and the Boater Education Card (sometimes called a “boater’s license”) is proof that you successfully completed your state’s official & approved boating safety course. In California, boaters under the age of 35 operating a motorized vessel must have a California Boater Card. In 2021, that requirement will be for anyone under the age of 40, and by 2025, all persons regardless of age will need one to operate a motorized vessel.
How Do I Get One?
At Boater U, we make getting your Boater Safety Card fun and easy. Those wanting to satisfy the minimum requirements for the boater safety card can take our 3 hour on-line course “Boat-Ed”. Click here for more information.
For those that prefer a more in-depth, in person boater education experience, we offer a 20 hour Boating Skills and Seamanship course developed by the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary to train recreational mariners in all aspects of boat operations. It covers type of craft, boat equipment, weather, rules of the road, and basic navigation. Learn more here.
Successful completion of either one of these National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved courses will result in the student receiving their Boater Safety Card. (Congrats!) Both courses are designed for students aged 16 and above. In California, NO person under 16 years of age may operate a boat with a motor of more than 15 horsepower, except for a sailboat that does not exceed 30 feet in length, or a dinghy used directly between a moored boat and the shore (or between two moored boats). The law allows children 12-15 years of age to operate boats with a motor of more than 15 horsepower or sailboats over 30 feet if supervised on board by an adult at least 18 years of age.
Getting the card is that simple. Check out our boating courses to get compliant and launch your boating dream!
-Team Boater U